

Elkhart and St. Joseph Counties Head Start Consortium 245 North Lombardy Drive, Door 1 South Bend, IN 46619

Office Phone: (574) 393-5864 Fax: (574) 283-8108

Web Site: www.headstartesj.com
Dr. Kathy Guajardo, Executive Director
This institution is an equal opportunity provider

October 22, 2021

1:00 P.M.

Policy Council Meeting – Virtual

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:19 p.m. by Sarah Hunter, Secretary.

II. Roll Call

Sarah requested the roll call be taken, it was stated that we have two excused absences and we do have a quorum.

On September 17, 2021, the Chairperson was dismissed because of unexcused absences according to Article II Section 8 Vacancy or Removal of Member after roll call there was not chairman for the meeting. The Vice Chairperson had turned in her resignation on October 15, 2021. This facilitated a need to have an election for a Chairperson for this last remaining meeting of the Policy Council. Article III Section 1 Election of Officers calls for the training consultant to conduct an election, so Greg Robertson was added to the virtual meeting.

There was a motion on the floor for nominations for the Chairperson. Kelly Gates self nominated herself. Sarah Hunter will continue as Secretary. The ratification for Chairperson was for Kelly Gates and the council voted and it was unanimous. Kelly called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.

Those present were:

Sarah Hunter Policy Council Secretary
Hali Dean Policy Council Member
Gabriela Del Real Policy Council Member
Kelly Gates Policy Council Member
Nancy Crump Policy Council Member

Dr. Tom Neat Policy Council Elkhart County Member at Large

Dr. Kathy Guajardo Head Start Executive Director
Chris Gregorich Head Start Operations Manager

Greg Robertson Governance Consultant

Those absent were:

Alexis Theriot Policy Council Member
David Hancock Policy Council Member
Tina Gemmer Policy Council Member

Jill Sheldon Policy Council Member - excused Brandi Dye Policy Council Member - excused

Claudia Morales Policy Council Member Lykecha Thomas Policy Council Member

III. Approval of Minutes

The motion for approval was made by Dr Tom Neat and was seconded by Hali Dean. All were in favor.

IV. Communication

(A.) Executive Director's Report

As included in packet.

(B.) Policy Council Chairperson's Report

None at this time.

(C.) Board Member's Communication

None at this time.

Action Agenda

21-0915-01	Approval of Distribution of Payroll, Summary of Actual Expenditures The motion for approval was made by Hali Dean and was seconded by Sarah Hunter. All were in favor.
21-0915-02	Approval of Personnel Actions included in Human Resources Report The motion for approval was made by Sarah Hunter and was seconded by Hali Dean. All were in favor.
21-0915-03	Approval of the Budget Revisions for Early Head Start/Head Start 2020-2021
	Grant
	The motion for approval was made by Sarah Hunter and was seconded by Hali Dean. All were in favor.
21-0915-04	Approval of the Expenditures and Closure of the Early Head Start/Head Start
	2020-2021 Grant
	The motion for approval was made by Dr. Tom Neat and was seconded by
	Sarah Hunter. All were in favor.
21-0915-05	Approval to Carry-over Funds from Early Head Start Childcare Partnership
	2020-2021 Grant
	The motion for approval was made by Nancy Crump and was seconded by
24 0045 06	Sarah Hunter. All were in favor.
21-0915-06	Approval of the Transportation Policy The motion for approval was made by Gabriela Del Real and was seconded by
	Sarah Hunter. All were in favor.
21-0915-07	Approval of the Compensation Policy
21 0515 07	The motion for approval was made by Hali Dean and was seconded by
	Sarah Hunter. All were in favor.
21-0915-08	Approval to Conduct an Annual Audit as Identified by the State Board of
	Accounts or their Recommendations
	The motion for approval was made by Sarah Hunter and was seconded by
	Gabriela Del Real. All were in favor.
21-0915-09	Approval to Payout Grantee Staff who have PTO Time Left and Not Able to
	Access it (due to COVID coverage)
	The motion for approval was made by Gabriela Del Real included to Pay PTO

V. New Business and Reports

None at this time, but it will be this councils last meeting. We would like to celebrate but just not sure how, either meet in person or send something in the mail, so we'll determine that and let everyone know. Dr. Guajardo thanked everyone for serving on the Policy Council this school year.

to all Consortium Staff and was seconded by Sarah Hunter. All were in favor.

VI. Adjournment

A motion for adjournment was made by Sarah Hunter and seconded by Dr. Tom Neat. All were in favor. The meeting was adjourned at 2:06 p.m.

Submitted by:

Chris Gregorich