

## Elkhart and St. Joseph Counties Head Start Consortium 245 North Lombardy, Door 1, South Bend, IN 46619 Office Phone: (574) 393-5864 Fax: (574) 283-8108

Web Site: <a href="www.headstartesj.com">www.headstartesj.com</a>
Dr. Kathy Guajardo, Executive Director
This institution is an equal opportunity provider

## November 17, 2023

## 9:00 A.M.

## Policy Council Training - In Person/Virtual

November 17, 2023 governance consultant, Greg Robertson, assisted in seating the new Policy Council members for the 2023-2024 school year and conducted orientation and initial training on the vision, purpose, and process of governance for Head Start. Greg provided an explanation of the Rules of Operation including the responsibilities of the members of the Policy Council.

Below is a list of the new members of the Policy Council.

Of all the members these were present in-person for the training/meeting.

Margaret Tam
Denise Greer
Policy Council Member

Lafemme Wilson Policy Council Member – arrived at 9:55 am

Karla Canniff Policy Council Member

These were present via Zoom/Virtual format.

Jessica Borrego Policy Council Member Yasmeen Burnett Policy Council Member

As the Rules of Operation call for at the time of training the consultant will conduct an election of the Executive Committee, i.e. the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Secretary. At the conclusion of the elections, if there are any suggested Community Representatives to be considered, the newly seated Council is given the opportunity to ratify them if they so choose.

The results of the elections are as follows:

Chairperson Nominees: Margaret Tam, Karla Canniff, Denise Greer Ashley McCallum

Election results: Ashley McCallum

Vice-Chairperson Nominees: Jessica Borrego, Karla Canniff

Election results: Karla Canniff

Secretary Nominee: Jessica Borrego, Denise Greer, Margaret Tam

Election results: Denise Greer

There were two people present who attended the training who offered themselves as potential Community Representatives: Dr. Tom Neat and Nicole Roeder-Chisholm and were both ratified as members by the new Council.

The training was concluded at 2:05 p.m.