

Elkhart and St. Joseph Counties Head Start Consortium 245 N. Lombardy, Suite A South Bend, IN 46619 Office Phone: (574) 393-5864 Fax: (574) 283-8108 Toll Free: (866) 440-8843 Web Site: <u>www.headstartesj.com</u> Dr. Kathy Guajardo, Executive Director *This institution is an equal opportunity provider*

August 21, 2020

12:00 P.M.

Policy Council Meeting – Virtual

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 12:11 p.m. by Kari Bone, Chairperson.

II. Roll Call

Kari requested the roll call be taken, it was stated that we have three excused and we do have a quorum.

Those present were:

Kari Bone	Policy Council Chairperson
Megan Faught	Policy Council Member
Marianne Dosmann	Policy Council Member
Cynthia Victoria	Policy Council Member
Dr. Tom Neat	Policy Council Elkhart County Member at Large
April Sapp	Policy Council St. Joseph County Member at Large
Dr. Kathy Guajardo	Head Start Executive Director
Chris Gregorich	Head Start Operations Manager

Those absent were:

Sonya DeSantis	Policy Council Vice Chairperson - excused
Dayaunna Rhymes-Taylor	Policy Council Member Secretary
Cynthia Hernandez	Policy Council Member
Thalia Garcia	Policy Council Member - excused
Sarah Truex	Policy Council Member - excused
Tanisha Breveard	Policy Council Member
Brandy McGhee	Policy Council Member
Victoria Valera	Policy Council Member
Courtney Schmucker	Policy Council Member

III. Approval of Minutes

The motion for approval was made by April Sapp and was seconded by Marianne Dosmann. All were in favor.

IV. Communication

- (A.) Executive Director's Report As included in packet.
- (B.) Policy Council Chairperson's Report None at this time.
- (C.) Board Member's Communication None at this time.

20-0821-01	Approval of Distribution of Payroll, Summary of Actual Expenditures	
	The motion for approval was made by April Sapp and was seconded by	
	Meagan Faught. All were in favor.	
20-0821-02	Approval of Personnel Actions included in Human Resources Report	
	The motion for approval was made by April Sapp and was seconded by	
	Meagan Faught. All were in favor.	
20-0821-03	Approval to Submit, by September 21, 2020, the Early Head Start	
	Expansion and Partnership Application to include LaPorte County	
	I, Marianne Dosmann, make the motion for approval and was seconded by	
	Cynthia Victoria. All were in favor.	

V. New Business and Reports

The goal for the Early Head Start Expansion is to receive 72 children, several partners have reached out and wanted to collaborate with us. The dollar amount for the expansion is still being working on and we will be serving a 1/3 of the children.

Greg Robertson will be working on how it will look this year to do a site meeting and elections for the next policy council members, so it's fair and also how do we get the votes in. We will be looking into a possible committee to review this.

VI. Adjournment

A motion for adjournment was made by April Sapp and seconded by Megan Faught. All were in favor. The meeting was adjourned at 12:35 p.m.

Submitted by:

Chris Gregorich